Tampere Lecture
Tampere Forum
Democracy Forum
Executive Board & Advisory Board
The Tampere Club
in Finland


The Tampere Lecture

Annually one member of the Tampere Club will give a public lecture in the Tampere Hall – the Tampere Lecture. The lecture will be open to the public and the text of each lecture will be made available to the academic community and the media.

The XI Tampere Lecture will be hold by Professor Sixten Korkman on Monday 10th September at the Tampere Hall. The topic of the lecture is: Pohjoismainen hyvinvointivaltio ja euroalueen velkakriisi ("The Nordic Welfare State and the Euro Area Debt Crisis"). The lecture is in Finnish and the English translation is also available for the audience. The lecture is free and open for public. Welcome!

The X Tampere Lecture was be held by the President of the Tampere Club, Professor Ernesto Garzón Valdés, on Friday 30th September 2011. The lecture was dedicated to the first Honorary President of the Club, Georg Henrik von Wright, and is titled "Body and Mind".

The IX Tampere Lecture was held on 1 September 2010 by Speaker of the Finnish Parliament, Mr. Sauli Niinistö.

The VIII Tampere Lecture was held by Professor Russell Hardin (University of New York) on 9 September 2009. The topic of his lecture is "Corporatist Democracy".

The VII Tampere Lecture was held by Professor Susan Mendus (University of York, UK) based on the general theme of the 2008 Meeting "Democracy and Social Progress" on 4 September 2008. She was the first woman to hold the Tampere Lecture.

Professor Avishai Margalit held the VI Tampere Lecture on "West and the Rest" on 6 September 2007 at the Tampere Hall small auditorium.

The V Tampere lecture was given by the Speaker of Parliament, former Prime Minister of Finland, Mr. Paavo Lipponen on "Democracy and Its Future".

Professor Bruno S. Frey (University of Zurich) gave the IV Tampere Lecture in 2005 on the topic "Happiness and Democracy".

Former President of Finland, Mr. Martti Ahtisaari gave the III Tampere-lecture on "State-building by the International Community – Are Outsiders Able to Bring Democracy?". In August 2003 Professor Geoffrey Brennan (Australian National University, Canberra, Australia) gave the II Tampere Lecture dealing with "Varieties of Democracy and Globalisation". Nobel Price Laureate, Professor James M. Buchanan gave the I Tampere Lecture on "The Normative Preconditions of Democracy" in July 2002.

Tampere Lecture 2009